The Hakkenden

The Hakkenden
THE 八犬伝 (The Hakkenden)
Type: OVA
Genres: Martial Arts, Historical, Demons, Samurai, Action, Adventure
Start Date: 1990-10-25
End Date: 1991-03-25
Episodes: 6
Episode Length: 30 min
Total Length: 180 min
Age Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
"During the blood-soaked feudal wars of Japan, the Awa clan faced certain extinction from a rival clan backed by demonic forces. Their clan's salvation becomes a curse when the family dog brings back the head of the enemy warlord but insists upon marrying the lord's daughter! This unnatural union bears fruit, but they are killed; and their eight unborn pups reincarnate as the eight Dog Warriors - The Hakkenden. The eight reincarnated souls travel their separate paths of violence and retribution, but slowly they come together as a formidable group representing the eight virtues of the bushido to slay the demons and redeem their clan!" (Source: DVD Complete Series Back Cover)